United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
TYPE: UN Entity
WEBSITE: http://www.unep.org/
REGION: Middle East,Africa,Americas,Asia,Europe,Oceania

Created in 1972, the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) addresses environmental issues at the global and regional level. UNEP provides leadership and encourages partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.
UNEP works with many partners: other UN agencies and programmes, international organisations, governments, non-governmental organisations, business, industry, the media and the public.

Preferences in private sector partnership

UNEP recognises the importance of engaging with the business sector to ensure greater commitment by the business sector to engender a new culture of environmental accountability and responsibility.

UNEP seeks partnerships with the business sector that can help to fulfill its mission and provide support to UNEP’s work. UNEP’s partnership with business sector can take many forms including programmatic partnerships, advocacy, fundraising support, or contributions-in-kind.

Set up in 1975, UNEP’s Division of Technology, Industry and Economics (DTIE) plays a particularly important role in helping to change the business environment by offering platforms for dialogue and co-operation, innovative policy options, pilot projects and creative market mechanisms.

Preferred partnership types

Advocacy of global issues; Business opportunities in low income communities/countries ; Project funding; Provision of services / personnel; Standards and guidelines development

Global issues

Children and Youth; Disaster and Humanitarian Relief; Economic Prosperity & Development; Education & Culture; Employment & Inclusive Growth; Energy & Climate; Food Security, Nutrition & Agriculture; Water & Sanitation

Regions / countries / territories
Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Canary Islands; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Comoros; Congo; Congo (Democratic Republic of the); Cote d'Ivoire; Djibouti; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Gabon; Gambia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mayotte (France); Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Reunion (France); Rwanda; Saint Helena; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Africa; Sudan; Swaziland; Togo; Uganda; United Republic of Tanzania; Western Sahara; Zambia; Zimbabwe
Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Aruba; Bahamas; Barbados; Belize; Bermuda; Bolivia; Brazil; Canada; Cayman Islands; Chile; Colombia; Costa Rica; Cuba; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Easter Island (Chile); Ecuador; El Salvador; Falkland Islands (Malvinas); French Guiana; Galapagos Islands (Ecuador); Greenland; Grenada; Guadeloupe (France); Guatemala; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Jamaica; Martinique; Mexico; Montserrat; Nicaragua; Panama; Paraguay; Peru; Puerto Rico; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Pierre and Miquelon (France); Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Suriname; Trinidad and Tobago; Turks and Caicos Islands; United States; Uruguay; Venezuela; Virgin Islands (United States)
Afghanistan; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Bhutan; Brunei Darussalam; Cambodia; China - Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region); China - Macau (Special Administrative Region); China - Taiwan Province; Christmas Island; Cocos (Keeling) Islands; Cyprus; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; French Southern and Antarctic Lands; Georgia; India; Japan; Kazakhstan; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Malaysia; Maldives; Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; Philippines; Republic of Korea; Singapore; Sri Lanka; Tajikistan; Thailand; Timor Leste; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Uzbekistan; Vietnam
Aland Islands (Finland); Albania; Andorra; Austria; Azores; Belarus; Belgium; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Channel Islands; Croatia; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Faeroe Islands; Finland; France; Gibraltar; Greece; Holy See; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland; Isle of Man; Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madeira (Portugal); Malta; Monaco; Montenegro; Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; San Marino; Serbia; Slovakia; Slovenia; Spain; Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands (Norway); Sweden; Switzerland; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Ukraine; United Kingdom
Algeria; Bahrain; Egypt; Iran; Iraq; Israel; Jordan; Kuwait; Lebanon; Libyan Arab Jamahiriya; Morocco; Oman; Qatar; Saudi Arabia; State of Palestine; Syrian Arab Republic; Tunisia; United Arab Emirates; Yemen
American Samoa; Australia; Cook Islands; Fiji; French Polynesia; Guam; Heard and McDonald Islands; Kiribati; Micronesia (Federated States of); Nauru; New Caledonia; New Zealand; Niue; Norfolk Island; Northern Mariana Islands; Palau; Pitcairn; Samoa; Solomon Islands; Tokelau; Tonga; Tuvalu; Vanuatu; Wallis and Futuna Islands
Type(s) of services / business sectors

Accounting and management services; Advocacy and legal services; Agriculture and livestock; Aquaculture; Arts and culture; Community and social services; Construction; Education and training; Engineering; Environmental services; Extractive industries and chemicals; Finance; Forestry; Leisure, hospitality, tourism and sports; Manufacturing; Media and PR; Medical and health; Personal care; Property and real estate; Public administration; Retail trade; Telecommunications and IT products and services; Transportation and logistics; Utilities


Description Last updated state
Sustainable Buildings & Climate Initiative (SBCI) 22 Jun 2010 Available