Archived content.

What are the Millennium Development Goals?

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are targets for overcoming, by 2015, the major issues facing the world’s poorest. They were ratified by 189 United Nations member states in September 2000.

Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development