UNRCPD (United Nations Regional Centre for Peace and Disarmament)

UNRCPD profile

  • Overview

    United Nations Regional Centre for Peace and Disarmament in Asia and the Pacific (UNRCPD) assists countries in the Asia-Pacific region in achieving their peace, security and disarmament goals, through provision of substantive support; coordination of activities at the subregional, regional and international levels; and information sharing on global and regional activities.

    UNRCPD covers 43 countries in Asia and the Pacific, reaching over half of the world’s population. We are a small and dynamic office on the verge of major growth. We work in close partnership with regional and sub-regional organisations, as well as with other United Nations entities and civil society organisations.

    The Centre focuses its activities in three main areas:
    • Providing capacity building and technical assistance.
    • Creating and participating in dialogue fora.
    • Engaging in outreach and advocacy on disarmament issues.

    As projects in the region are funded solely through voluntary contributions, we will soon be seeking potential partners and funding for select projects.

    Preferred partnership types

    Project funding

    Sustainable Development Goals

    4. Quality education; 5. Gender equality; 8. Decent work and economic growth; 10. Reduced inequalities; 16. Peace, justice and strong institutions

    Issue areas

    Education; Gender Equality; Human Rights; Human Trafficking; Indigenous Peoples; Peace; Persons with Disabilities; Principle 1; Principle 2; Rule of Law; Women's Empowerment

    Regions / countries / territories

    Asia: 29 countries (click to show)
    Afghanistan; Bangladesh; Bhutan; Brunei Darussalam; Cambodia; China; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; India; Indonesia; Japan; Kazakhstan; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Malaysia; Maldives; Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; Pakistan; Philippines; Republic of Korea; Singapore; Sri Lanka; Tajikistan; Thailand; Timor Leste; Turkmenistan; Uzbekistan; Vietnam
    Oceania: 14 countries (click to show)
    Australia; Fiji; Kiribati; Marshall Islands; Micronesia (Federated States of); Nauru; New Zealand; Palau; Papua New Guinea; Samoa; Solomon Islands; Tonga; Tuvalu; Vanuatu