WMO (World Meteorological Organization)

WMO profile

  • Overview

    The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is a UN specialized agency, tasked to coordinate observations on the state of the global weather and climate systems and support the communication of data on weather and climate variability and change. We focus on delivering this information to socio-economic sectors, such as agriculture, health, transport, tourism, disaster management, water availability, flood management and emergency services. This information is critical for the mitigation of impacts from natural disasters and severe weather and extreme climate events.
    WMO is the coordination mechanism for the National Meteorological and Hydrological Services of its 189 Members, fostering collaboration among this global network for the benefit of people, property and livelihoods. We provide advice, support, and education and training to our Members and their governments. We also collaborate with other UN organizations, NGOs and the private sector to expand our network and ensure the efficient use and sharing of data for the provision of tailored weather and climate information and services to users worldwide.

    Preferences in private sector partnership

    As weather, climate and climate variability and change have a significant and increasing effect on global economies, WMO seeks to further engage the business sector to expand the observing and applications networks and ensure the provision of better and more user-friendly data and information services.

    We are seeking new partnerships with the private sector that can support our work at all levels. The desired partnerships can take the form of involving the business sector in our programmes, fundraising support or contributions in-kind.

    One specific area of partnership is the Voluntary Cooperation Programme (VCP) Trust Fund through which we help to support our Members in developing and least developed countries. This fund is not only essential for our work but also for mitigating impacts from climate variability and change in those countries. For more information on the VCP programme, please visit our Website.

    Preferred partnership types

    Advocacy of global issues; Project funding; Standards and guidelines development

    Sustainable Development Goals

    4. Quality education; 5. Gender equality; 6. Clean water and sanitation; 7. Affordable and clean energy; 9. Industry, innovation and infrastructure; 10. Reduced inequalities; 11. Sustainable cities and communities; 12. Responsible consumption and production; 13. Climate action; 14. Life below water; 15. Life on land; 16. Peace, justice and strong institutions

    Issue areas

    Biodiversity; Climate Change; Education; Energy; Human Rights; Peace; Principle 7; Principle 8; Principle 9; Water and Sanitation

    Regions / countries / territories

    Africa: 52 countries (click to show)
    Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Canary Islands; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Comoros; Congo; Congo (Democratic Republic of the); Cote d'Ivoire; Djibouti; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Gabon; Gambia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mayotte (France); Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Reunion (France); Rwanda; Saint Helena; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Africa; Sudan; Swaziland; Togo; Uganda; United Republic of Tanzania; Western Sahara; Zambia; Zimbabwe
    Americas: 51 countries (click to show)
    Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Aruba; Bahamas; Barbados; Belize; Bermuda; Bolivia; Brazil; Canada; Cayman Islands; Chile; Colombia; Costa Rica; Cuba; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Easter Island (Chile); Ecuador; El Salvador; Falkland Islands (Malvinas); French Guiana; Galapagos Islands (Ecuador); Greenland; Grenada; Guadeloupe (France); Guatemala; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Jamaica; Martinique; Mexico; Montserrat; Nicaragua; Panama; Paraguay; Peru; Puerto Rico; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Pierre and Miquelon (France); Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Suriname; Trinidad and Tobago; Turks and Caicos Islands; United States; Uruguay; Venezuela; Virgin Islands (United States)
    Asia: 37 countries (click to show)
    Afghanistan; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Bhutan; Brunei Darussalam; Cambodia; China - Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region); China - Macau (Special Administrative Region); China - Taiwan Province; Christmas Island; Cocos (Keeling) Islands; Cyprus; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; French Southern and Antarctic Lands; Georgia; India; Japan; Kazakhstan; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Malaysia; Maldives; Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; Philippines; Republic of Korea; Singapore; Sri Lanka; Tajikistan; Thailand; Timor Leste; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Uzbekistan; Vietnam
    Europe: 51 countries (click to show)
    Aland Islands (Finland); Albania; Andorra; Austria; Azores; Belarus; Belgium; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Channel Islands; Croatia; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Faeroe Islands; Finland; France; Gibraltar; Greece; Holy See; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland; Isle of Man; Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madeira (Portugal); Malta; Monaco; Montenegro; Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; San Marino; Serbia; Slovakia; Slovenia; Spain; Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands (Norway); Sweden; Switzerland; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Ukraine; United Kingdom
    Middle East: 19 countries (click to show)
    Algeria; Bahrain; Egypt; Iran; Iraq; Israel; Jordan; Kuwait; Lebanon; Libyan Arab Jamahiriya; Morocco; Oman; Qatar; Saudi Arabia; State of Palestine; Syrian Arab Republic; Tunisia; United Arab Emirates; Yemen
    Oceania: 24 countries (click to show)
    American Samoa; Australia; Cook Islands; Fiji; French Polynesia; Guam; Heard and McDonald Islands; Kiribati; Micronesia (Federated States of); Nauru; New Caledonia; New Zealand; Niue; Norfolk Island; Northern Mariana Islands; Palau; Pitcairn; Samoa; Solomon Islands; Tokelau; Tonga; Tuvalu; Vanuatu; Wallis and Futuna Islands

    Type(s) of services / business sectors

    Basic Resources; Industrial Goods & Services; Industrial Goods & Services - Support Services; Media; Other; Technology; Telecommunications; Utilities

    Goods categories

    Books & audiovisual; Computer hardware & software; Educational; Electrical & electronics; Environmental; Industrial; Safety & security; Telecommunications; Transportation