UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe)

UNECE profile

  • Overview

    The Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) was created in 1947 by ECOSOC. Its major aim is to promote pan-European economic integration. To do so, UNECE brings together 56 countries located in Europe, Central Asia and North America to work together on economic and sectoral issues.

    The Commission provides analysis, policy advice and assistance to governments. In cooperation with other stakeholders, notably the business community, it gives focus to UN global economic mandates. It also sets out norms, standards and conventions to facilitate international cooperation within and outside the region.

    UNECE expertise covers sectors including: economic cooperation and integration, sustainable energy, environment, housing and land management, population, statistics, timber, trade and transport.

    Preferred partnership types

    Advocacy of global issues; Business opportunities in low income communities/countries ; Project funding; Provision of goods; Provision of services / personnel; Standards and guidelines development

    Sustainable Development Goals

    1. No poverty; 6. Clean water and sanitation; 7. Affordable and clean energy; 8. Decent work and economic growth; 9. Industry, innovation and infrastructure; 10. Reduced inequalities; 11. Sustainable cities and communities; 12. Responsible consumption and production; 13. Climate action; 14. Life below water; 15. Life on land; 16. Peace, justice and strong institutions

    Issue areas

    Biodiversity; Child Labour; Climate Change; Energy; Forced Labour; Human Rights; Labour; Migrant Workers; Peace; Poverty; Principle 3; Principle 4; Principle 5; Principle 6; Principle 7; Principle 8; Principle 9; Rule of Law; Water and Sanitation

    Regions / countries / territories

    Europe: 51 countries (click to show)
    Aland Islands (Finland); Albania; Andorra; Austria; Azores; Belarus; Belgium; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Channel Islands; Croatia; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Faeroe Islands; Finland; France; Gibraltar; Greece; Holy See; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland; Isle of Man; Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madeira (Portugal); Malta; Monaco; Montenegro; Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; San Marino; Serbia; Slovakia; Slovenia; Spain; Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands (Norway); Sweden; Switzerland; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Ukraine; United Kingdom

    Type(s) of services / business sectors

    Automobiles & Parts; Banks; Chemicals; Construction & Materials; Financial Services; Food & Beverage; Industrial Goods & Services; Insurance; Oil & Gas; Other; Personal & Household Goods; Real Estate; Technology; Telecommunications; Utilities